Happy Easter

Our family had a very eventful Easter weekend.  It began with Good Friday Service at North Hills Community Church.  Miranda and I spent the day sleeping in and watching movies together.  (Thankfully, neither of us had school!)  After running some errands, we rushed to the church, only to arrive a few minutes late.  I was feeling frustrated with traffic and other piddly things, but was immediately convicted the second we sat down.  It hit me like a ton of bricks…none of it was important.  This was Good Friday, the day we celebrate the death of Christ.  The day we celebrate the ultimate sacrifice of the Messiah.  The day we celebrate the love of God.

Saturday was a busy day, starting bright and early at 10:00 am with an Easter Egg Hunt.  Miranda did great!

image

Then she spent what seemed like hours in the jumpy house.

image

We then raced off to have lunch with my mom and sisters, which was delicious!  Afterwards, Miranda partied all afternoon at a friends birthday party…with another jumpy house!  She was ecstatic!

While she and John had a quiet dinner at home, I was able to spend some “girl-time” with my Women’s Group.  Our last get-together of the Spring Semester consisted of pot luck and movie night.  We watched “The Greatest Story Ever Told.”  I had never seen it before, but I think I liked it, for the most part.  It was a little too long overall, but had an interesting take on the life of Jesus.

The Easter bunny visited late Saturday evening and left a small basket of goodies for Miranda.

image

Easter Sunday was just as busy as Saturday.  We were all up by 8:00, getting ready for church.  The Easter Service was even more convicting than the Good Friday Service.  I was reminded that our lives here are but a moment in God’s timeline. Yes, trials and pain will come, but it’s only for a moment.  If we can focus on Him, then we will reap the rewards of Jesus’ sacrifice.  Jesus died and rose from the grave in order to allow us to spend eternity with Him.  All we have to do is accept the gift and build a relationship with Him.

The best part of the Easter Service was having my husband there with me.  I didn’t even have to persuade him!  Really!  I don’t think he’ll ever know how wonderful it was for me that he came.  He finally stepped into “my” world.  Yes, it was only for an hour, but it meant the so much to me.  It’s lonely attending church without your partner.  John didn’t say much about the service, but I like to think he enjoyed it!

After church, we ate lunch and then spent some time with my mom and sisters.  Then, off again, to my dad’s for another egg hunt.

image

Miranda dyed some Easter Eggs before we had dinner.

image

Overall, it was a wonderful, thought-provoking, weekend.  My only regret – not taking pictures of the family!!

Leave a Reply

