Resurrection Rolls

A friend gave me this fun recipe for Resurrection Rolls and I thought it would be a great activity for Miranda and I.  I knew she would enjoy making (and eating) the rolls, plus give us an opportunity to talk more about the resurrection of Jesus.

Ingredients:

  • 1 package of crescent rolls
  • 8 marshmallows
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 2 tablespoons of sugar
  • 2 tablespoons of cinnamon

First, preheat the oven to 350 degrees, then melt the butter.  In a separate bowl, mix the sugar and cinnamon.  Unwrap the triangle crescent rolls.  The rolls represent the burial cloth of Jesus and the marshmallow represents Jesus after his death on the cross.

image

Dip the marshmallow first in the melted butter, which represents the oils of embalming, followed by the mixture of cinnamon and sugar representing the spices used for burial.  Place the covered marshmallows on the roll.

image

Next, gently wrap the rolls around the covered marshmallows.

image

Make sure you seal the roll tightly, pinching the edges so the marshmallow doesn’t escape.  Bake 11-13 minutes.  (I like to think the oven is representing the 3 days in Hell Jesus endured, although the recipe didn’t state that specifically.)

image

After cooling, the roll will be empty, representing the resurrection.

image

As you can see, I didn’t seal the “burial cloth” appropriately and some of the marshmallow oozed out.

That didn’t stop Miranda from enjoying her dessert though!

image

I really enjoyed this activity on so many levels.  First, Miranda and I spent quality time together.  She was able to actively participate, which she absolutely loved.  Miranda is at the age where she wants to help me do all sorts of things.  I would often get frustrated because it was taking too long or it wasn’t done right.  Recently, I learned in a podcast, that children enjoy the process of “helping”, whereas parents are looking at the end result.  I tried to let her do it her way, but I have to admit, I did go back and “fix” the rolls.

Anyway, I think the best part of the night was simply sharing time, smiles, and the story of our Risen Lord.

4 thoughts on “Resurrection Rolls

  1. It’s ironic that you posted this as my plans for my Sunday School kids as well as Henry was to pass out a receipe for Resurrection Cookies. I think we might do both but this one seems better for younger kids and less ingredients and time to do. However with my resurrection cookie receipe it has the bible verses to read with it etc… . I think for my glueten free family we’ll have to do the resurrection cookies but I may pass out both receipes to the families of my kiddo’s prior to Easter to do at home. Thanks for sharing this and the pictures. It looks like a yummy receipe and I just LOVE the idea! :o)

    • Glad you enjoyed the post. The original recipe that I used also had a bible verse to go along with it. Ever since I posted this, I’ve had a couple of people mention the Resurrection Cookies. I’ve never heard of hem until this. If you get a chance, will you send me the recipe you are using? I think Miranda would enjoy those as well! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Easter activities « Under the Cherry Trees

Leave a Reply

