Cap 10K

Yesterday, I participated in the largest 10K race in the state of Texas, The Capitol 10K.  I never would have thought I could even complete 1 mile, much less 6 miles!  But I did, and I did it well.  I was never a runner, or any other type of athlete; I don’t have the body or coordination for it.

In the last year and a half, I have found that I really enjoy running.  I love having a special time that is all for me (which I know that all parents can appreciate).  Most of all, I love how I feel when I finish.  I am still surprised that I actually traveled several miles on foot!  I have a great sense of accomplishment that I hope to never get used to.

The Cap 10K began early Sunday morning and I was so nervous as I waited for the start.  I knew I would finish the race, but I really wanted to do better than I ever had before.  Once we began, I kept my eyes on the road and on the backs of those in front of me.  When I felt tired of running, I challenged myself to try and make it to the next tree or street light or to pass a runner in front of me.  As each mile passed, I could feel the excitement grow.  There were several stations with live music (Austin is the Live Music Capital in the World, you know!) and that gave me more energy to push through the burning in my knees and thighs.

I finished my first Cap 10K race in 1 hour, 27 minutes, and 58 seconds.  I also broke my 4 mile, 5 mile, and 6 mile personal records.  (Check out my “Running Stats” page on the top of this page.)  After the race, I felt great.  There was no soreness, just a little stiffness after sitting in the car for an hour.  Most of all, I was proud to have completed the race.

I’ve heard other runners say that competing in races can be addictive and I know that they are right.  I am definitely participating the the Cap 10K next year, and I have two 5K races in April that I am going to start training for.  I know it sounds silly to train to run 3.1 miles when I’ve already accomplished 6.2 miles, but I want to be able to run a full 5K race without stopping to walk.  Then maybe, just maybe, I can think about running in a half marathon…

4 thoughts on “Cap 10K

  1. I am very proud of you and what you have accomplished. Loved the blog, too! Can Miranda even fathom what you have done?

Leave a Reply

