Accidentally…

Well, 2011 is definitely starting off with a bang!

On my way to work this morning I encountered a little bit of trouble.  I was be-bopping along, listening to the radio, when I noticed something unsettling about four or five cars ahead.  It looked like the rear end of a tan car hit the concrete barrier on the left.  So, I knew that this was going to be bad.  I slammed on the brakes.  Unfortunately, it was too late and I rear-ended the SUV in front of me.

As I was in the process of the accident, I instinctively held out my right arm to protect the passenger…seat.  Since I was completely alone in the car, I felt ridiculous.  But, now was not the time to laugh at myself.

So, then I watched, in absolute disbelief, as everyone involved in the accident drove off.  The SUV I rear ended exited the highway, so I followed, thinking they were going to pull off at a safer spot.  I was wrong!  Once I realized they had no intention of pulling over, I tried to get the license plate number, but it was too late.  They were gone.

I pulled over in a parking lot and called John.  He then called the police and met me to survey the damage.  Of course, without a license plate number, the police can’t do anything.  I’ll have to fill out my blue form and turn it in so there will be a record of the accident.  Thank You, God for keeping me (and those law-breakers) safe!  The damage could have been much worse, not only to the car, but me or someone else.

What have I learned from this?

  1. People don’t always follow the rules.
  2. In an emergency, my passenger seat will be protected to the best of my ability.
  3. We have a$750 deductible.  😦
  4. Since EVERYONE left the scene of the accident, I am not at fault at all.  🙂

I guess it can only get better from here, right?

image

 

2 thoughts on “Accidentally…

Leave a Reply

