A New, Hopeful Year

Those closest to me know that that 2010 was one of the most difficult years I have ever endured.  In the midst of several different family calamities, I have cried enough tears to fill the ocean, but I have never lost hope of better, reconciled relationships.  I believe these are the kinds of trials that make me a stronger wife, mother, daughter…woman.  I am not sad to see the end of 2010, I am excited to see the beginning of a new, hopeful year.

For the first time in my life, I have seriously thought of making a New Years Resolution.  I want change to permeate every day of 2011 – in every aspect of my life.

By listing my resolutions for here, I hope to be held accountable in reaching my goals.

  1. Spend more time with God – not just reading, but praying and meditating on His word.
  2. Increase time spent with family and close friends in order to deepen the relationships I cherish.
  3. Complete the Statesman Capitol 10K Race in March.  I have already begun training, I’m just hoping my knee will survive the longer runs.
  4. Get back down to 140 – 150 pounds.  I am giving myself one more month of documented strict exercise and diet before making the doctor’s appointment to find out why I can’t lose weight.
  5. Grade papers during the week so I won’t have so much to do on weekends.

I know that this may seem like a lot to take on this year, but I want this to be a year of change.  With God’s grace and my determination, 2011 will be a great year.

I hope that YOUR 2011 is full of blessings and happiness.

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “A New, Hopeful Year

  1. Lisa, these seem like very good and attainable goals. I have 8 myself. So we’ll see how we do……Good LUCK!! And happy new year!

Leave a Reply

