Thanksgiving 2010

Thanksgiving began bright and early Thursday morning.  We headed out to Austin to volunteer with Operation Turkey.  My mom, sisters Tedi and Lexi, Miranda and I all helped to package Thanksgiving Dinners for the homeless community.  We were part of an assembly line gathering turkey, dressing, potatoes, vegetables, and pie.  I enjoyed watching Miranda’s eager face as she slid her trays across the table, gathering each piece, being so careful when carrying the finished product.  We talked about the reason we were there, but I don’t think she understood until after we left when we saw a couple of homeless men carrying their trays.  I had thought that Miranda was too young to appreciate the importance of serving the community, but her enthusiasm proved me wrong!

image

My mom and the girls then headed over to my house and our own turkey preparation began!  Our dinner was a simple one: turkey, mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, rolls, and of course dessert!  Pumpkin pie and Cinnamon strudel.  We turned on a movie, “Princess and the Frog” while the turkey cooked.   After dinner and dessert, it was game time!  I LOVE playing games and hardly ever get the chance anymore.   I really enjoyed spending the day with my mom and sisters.

After everyone left, John, Miranda and I relaxed on the couch, full and happy.  That’s when I began thinking…

There are literally hundreds of things that I am thankful for this year, but I think I can sum it up in just a few items: family that loves me, friends that support me, a fulfilling teaching career.  Most of all, though, I am thankful for a God that has saved me, forgiven me, and continually blesses me.

One thought on “Thanksgiving 2010

  1. I read your post while out in Kansas. I think this is a wonderful tradition for your family. Sometimes it’s hard to see the blessings in our lives. I completely agree with the blessings that God has graciously gifted us. What a wonderful God!

Leave a Reply

