Atypical Teen Talk

This past Sunday, I led our Church’s Middle School Sunday Bible Study.  We have over a dozen hyper teenagers that are so unique, and at times, so stereotypical.

This week was an exception, sort of…

I began the study with a question.  “Name a television show, movie, or book in which the weak character wins over the strong character.”

I was so proud as the first few kids spoke.  They all named a book that they were reading.  It was wonderful to hear the other kids comment how they liked the book, or in the fashion of a sweet red-head, plug her ears and say, “Don’t talk about it, I haven’t finished it yet!”

When I began our study, I fully expected to discuss movies and TV shows.  These teenagers surprised me with plot lines and an excitement for books.

Of course, after a couple of minutes, the conversation turned and we launched into typical teen talk.

It was nice while it lasted!

Leave a Reply

