Taming the Tongue

This Sunday, my pastor, Keith, gave a wonderful sermon on James 3: 1 – 12, Taming the Tongue.  Basically, in a nutshell, our words have the ability to help or harm people.

I have many examples of how words have hurt me in the past, as I am sure everyone does.  Unfortunately, I also have examples of how I have used words to bring down others, usually people I care deeply for.

On the bright side, I have a wonderful friend, Kim, that recently used her words to give me trememdous encouragement and understanding. 

We talked for over an hour last week.  I knew she was having a difficult time and wanted to lend a friendly, listening ear.  Halfway through the conversation, she read between the lines and asked how things were going.  Kim is one of the few people that I can be brutally honest with, without any judgement. 

She shared my happiness at the continuing progress that John and I have been making in our marriage.  Kim also had comforting words for other family and school frustrations. 

When I hung up the phone, I felt a mixture of emotions.  Sadness that she lives hundreds of miles away, but also incredible peace in the daily trials that I face.

Yes, words can be used for evil.  I thank God for sending me a wonderful friend, like Kim, who will also use her words for good.

The soothing tongue is a tree of life,

but a perverse tongue crushes the spirit.

Proverbs 15:3

3 thoughts on “Taming the Tongue

  1. Well, darn it, you made me cry.

    I think we have all been there with both being on the harming and the harmed side of what words can do. The unfortunate part is that we are human and there is a good chance we’ll do it again, even me. The fortunate part is there is forgiveness to be given and for us to either accept it or deny such a gift. Sometimes the hardest part is choosing how much effect those words will have on us.

    It seems this was such a perfect fitting sermon this week that even hundred miles away is fitting for my ears to hear. Thank you for sharing the passage and I’ll prayerfully think on it.

    Your joys are my joys, your triumphs my triumphs, hurts, tears, frustrations, celebrations, and even peace mine and etc… As what effects you affect me essentially because of how much you mean to me. As long as you seek friendship, you will always have it. I know the hard situation you find yourself in (you know which one) and I think that if you focus on the love you find with each of the two, then eventually I think the two will see what you see, see what’s more important and eventually give up the useless struggle and do likewise. This is my prayer for you.

    You mean the world to me my friend and I love you.
    ~ K

Leave a Reply

