School Days

Last Wednesday was Miranda’s first day of Pre-Kindergarten.   My stomach was churning and it felt like pins and needles were being jabbed into the palms of my hands.  I was sooo nervous!  My little baby girl was beginning her school career!  I just looked at her in my rearview mirror and couldn’t believe how fast the time had gone.  

All the way to school, Miranda chattered on about her new friends, new classroom, and new teacher.  Mrs. Anderson is a lovely Irish woman with a gentle spirit.  Of course, Miranda didn’t speak to her at Meet the Teacher Night, but since then, has talked about how nice her new teacher was.

As I walked Miranda to her building, she kept on talking.  The minute we actually stepped in…she froze!  Miranda had a death grip on her bag of sliced apples and kept her head down.  I couldn’t even get her to speak to me!  I gently placed Miranda in a chair, put her backpack away, and gave her a short pep talk.   Still, nothing.  A quick kiss on the head, a soft “I love you”, and then I walked out.  Surprisingly, I didn’t cry at all.  I felt completely confident in Mrs. Anderson and knew that Miranda would be okay.

All day, I thought about how she was doing.  Thankfully, Mrs. Anderson sent several e-mails throughout the day to let all the worried parents (like me) know how the day was progressing.  Finally, it was time to pick her up.  I waited in the car line for what seemed like hours.  When Miranda was walked out, I finally broke.  She looked like she had actually grown since I dropped her off! 

Miranda talked about her day all the way home.  I cried in between asking questions.  She’s only 4…how did she get so big?  Miranda is no longer a baby or a toddler.  Gone are the diapers, smooshed peas, and baby gyms.  Now we are in the world of backpacks, Reading Logs, and behavior charts.  Before long, she’ll be off to college and starting a new life.  Until then, I’m going to enjoy every moment and hope it doesn’t pass too quickly.

One thought on “School Days

  1. I have to admit when I picked Miranda up from school last week, upon reaching the lady with the walkie talkie, I stammered when she asked me what grade Miranda was in. I guess it kind of hit me that Miranda IS in school! She seems just too little to be a school girl! And too little to be in a ‘grade’! And way to little to carry a full size backpack!

Leave a Reply

