Progress

Life is hard.  Growing up is hard.  Changing is really hard.   To the people closest to me, I have been painfully honest regarding the status of my marriage.  My emotions have been all over the place, but my  heart has been steadfast.

Through all of the junk that John and I have heaped onto each other, I can feel that we do share a deep love for one another.  The one thing that keeps us focused is Miranda.  She deserves to have the happiest and healthiest home possible and we have committed to take the necessary steps.

Our home has a different atmosphere now.  There are more smiles, hugs, and conversation.  It is not perfect, and there have been moments of relapse.  Sometimes we get stuck in a rut and it seems that change is impossible.  But people can and do change…if the stakes are high enough.  Day to day, we get up and face the difficult times with hope. 

John and I are still not where we are supposed to be, but I am grateful that we are not where we were a year ago.  The progress that has been made encourages us to continue fighting for happiness.

5 thoughts on “Progress

  1. Lisa, i have alsways said i wish someone would have told me being married is a JOB. I am glad you guys are working on it. It will come, you just always have to remember why you love him….and try to get over the bad stuff 🙂

  2. Wonderful post! Life, in general, is a work in progress. I enjoy you sharing. It helps others who may be wanting to give up and take the easy (they think) way.

  3. This post brought me to near tears as I am here for you and you know that. Just watching your struggle is hard so I can’t imagine what it is like for you both. Just know that I am here praying and rooting that things will work out. The thing to remember is that no matter how you think your marriage is supposed to look is going to be different than how God wants it to work. Who knows, maybe this was his plan for you so you can grow closer together and there is a bigger picture of what He wants you both to be a part of. I think that he might be changing your picture of what perfect is.

    I really like this picture of John and you. It makes me smile. I love you my friend and continue to pray for your happiness.

    ~Kimmy

  4. Ladies, thank you all for your support. This has been a trying time for our family, but with your prayers and our prayers, we will continue to see progress. 🙂

Leave a Reply

