Colorado Connections

Last week, the family packed up and drove 15 hours, yes 15 hours, to Littleton, Colorado.  We came to visit my sister and her family and a couple of my closest friends.   John and I are the bravest parents in the world…we drove 15 hours with a 4 and a half year old!  This could have been a complete disaster, but let me tell you, Miranda did awesome on the drive.  She slept a big portion of the time, and the rest of it, she played or watched movies. 

We stayed with my sister Shanna, her husband Nathan, and her two girls, Tiffany, 16, and Emily, almost 12.  I appreciate all of them for opening up their home to us and for being completely hospitable.  I am so impressed with the girls and how they have grown!  I loved listening to Tiffany talk.  She is so mature and  insightful.  Emily was awesome with Miranda.  She would play and color and let Miranda boss her around.  I can’t wait to see what kind of adults they will become!

I also spent some time with my long-time friends, Kim and Sam.  I enjoyed watching all of our kids have fun together at Monkey Business.  Kim’s little boy, Henry and Miranda are only children and neither of them have friends their age in the neighborhood, so it was so nice to see them playing together and keeping each other company.  I think that Kim and I spend quite a bit of our time entertaining our kids, so we appreciated the break.  Kim and I also spent a lovely afternoon completely kid-less! 

I had a great time visiting with family and friends, but it was also bittersweet.  I realized that I don’t spend enough time connecting with all of these ladies in Colorado.  Yes, I see pictures and FaceBook status updates, but it’s just not the same.  Relationships are extremely important in our lives and I want to make sure that I don’t let the physical distance between all of us become an excuse not to pursue a connection.

Leave a Reply

