To Share or Not to Share…That is the Question!

This weekend was a big one for Miranda…she hosted her first slumber party with a friend from church.  I was a little cautious since Miranda was only 4 (and a half) and  her friend was 7, but they play great together, so I figured it would be fun.

The afternoon started off great, but then about an hour into the slumber party, I experienced one of the biggest drawbacks to having an only child…they don’t always like to share.  Miranda had several temper tantrums that landed her in time out, right in front of her friend.  I could see that she was terribly embarrassed, but I knew it had to be done.

I took Miranda into her room and asked, “Which toys can she play with?”

In between sobs, Miranda responded, “My books.”

“Just your books, nothing else?”  Seriously?!?

“But they’re mine!!”  Miranda eyes erupted in more tears.

Then I had the opportunity to teach my daughter a lesson on selfishness.  “Miranda, you have a choice to make here.  You can share your toys and have a friend with you to play with, or you can keep all your toys to yourself and lose your friend.”

She thought about that for a few moments, then, “OK, I’ll share.”

And that was the end of it.  They played so well for the rest of the evening.  There were a few minor incidents (Miranda can be a little bossy) but they worked it out by themselves.  I was proud to see Miranda turn her attitude around so quickly.

This is just the beginning of our Slumber Party Adventures.  I hope they all turn out as fun as this one did…well, once Miranda learned how to share!

One thought on “To Share or Not to Share…That is the Question!

  1. I really enjoyed reading this post as you know I love seeing the learning process. I’m willing to bet though, that even children with at least one sibling at times would have issues sharing their things with their friends at visits or slumber parties. I’m also willing to bet that this won’t be the first time Miranda will have a little time struggling with this concept with visitors. You did an awesome job mom. Did you realize that by giving her a choice you are using the Parenting with Love and Logic method? That’s really awesome because you are showing her how to think through her choices! I can’t wait to meet princess Miranda. I’m envious that you get to host slumber parties as I’ve always loved those growing up.

    I like the new look for your blog also!

Leave a Reply

