Here Kitty, Kitty, Kitty!

People that know me, know that I love cats!  I have three of my own: Bubbles, Callie, and Whitefoot. 

    

I also have five shelves dedicated to all my all my kitty figurines.  I LOVE kitties!  My daughter, Miranda, has the same affection for cats.  She wants to hug them, squeeze them, love them…whether or not they want it! 

Callie and Whitefoot absolutely hate her!  They will run out of the room when she comes in.  Why is that, you ask??  Well,  Whitefoot is extremely skittish and terrified of every little sound.  She will let us pet her, but not much else.  Sometimes she’ll cuddle with me at night, but only if Callie isn’t already on the bed.  (Whitefoot and Callie have a sibling rivalry going on and Whitefoot always loses.)  Callie doesn’t like much affection either.  She spends most of her time roaming the neighborhood and comes in at night to eat and nap.  So, when Miranda comes in contact with either of them, she will ROAR at them and laugh as they run away. 

Bubbles is a different story.  She is very sweet and will cuddle with you, invite you to pet her, and take every abuse that Miranda heaps on her. 

I see a lot of myself in Miranda.  When I was younger, my dad had three cats and I loved to torture them!  Cleo was a lot like Whitefoot and Callie.  I couldn’t get too close without risking a scratch or two.  Fuzzbutt (I know, I know, my dad named her) was pretty mellow, but she wasn’t as fun to play with.  Lanky was my cat of choice.  I would chase her, roll her up in a blanket as my baby, and try to kiss her sweet little nose.  I just wanted a kitty that would follow me around, sit on my lap, and absolutely adore me!  Was that too much to ask?  I wanted her to love me as much as I loved her and I didn’t understand that my over-affection was driving her to hate me! 

So, now as I watch my own daughter with our cats, all of those old feelings come back.  I completely understand Miranda’s pain when Bubbles won’t come out from under the bed to play.  I know that I should be more protective of Bubbles when Miranda is carrying her around the house, but it’s really hard to discipline with a smile on my face.

One thought on “Here Kitty, Kitty, Kitty!

  1. You have to had it to your dad, he has a knack for naming. Who can say the name Fuzzbutt without smiling? Cute story and nice to see your whole family!

Leave a Reply

